The Committee for Geelong has announced that Barwon Health’s CEO Frances Diver is the 2021 recipient of the Inaugural Frank Costa Leadership Award. 

Announced at Committee for Geelong’s 20th Anniversary Celebration on the 7th December 2021, this award reflects a strategic objective of the Committee for Geelong to deliver a collective voice and leadership in our community.

This inaugural Frank Costa Leadership Award is in recognition of Frank Costa’s legacy and leadership in the Geelong community and remembers him as one of the Committee for Geelong’s founders 20 years ago. Frank Costa AO was also the inaugural recipient of the Committee for Geelong Annual Leadership Award in 2010. Mr Costa passed away earlier this year.

According to the Committee for Geelong Chair, Clive Pugh, this annual Leadership Award provides an opportunity to independently recognise and celebrate leadership in the Geelong community and is a decision of the Committee for Geelong Board.

“In making this award to Frances for her outstanding leadership through the pandemic, we are acknowledging the work of all frontline health workers who have and continue to provide the highest level of care for our community.

Through Ms Divers’ leadership as CEO of Barwon Health during the COVID-19 pandemic, Geelong’s reputation has been enhanced as one being one of the highest vaccinated regions in the country of people over 12 years of age,” Mr Pugh said. 

Ms Diver will receive the award at the Committee for Geelong’s Annual Leadership Breakfast on Wednesday 16 February 2022 at The Pier where she will be the keynote speaker. Tickets for the Annual Leadership Breakfast are available via the Committee for Geelong’s website, 2022 Annual Leadership Award Breakfast 2022 – Committee for Geelong

Ms Diver said she was excited to receive the award, which she viewed as recognition of Barwon Health’s important role in the community.

“This award celebrates the success Barwon Health has had in working with the community to respond to the many challenges we’ve faced together in 2021,” she said.

“We’re committed to making Geelong the healthiest and safest community it can be, which starts with access to the high-quality healthcare that we provide.”

Recent recipients of the Committee for Geelong’s Annual Leadership Awards include former G21 CEO, Elaine Carbines AM in 2020 and former Geelong Football Club Chief Executive, Brian Cook in 2019. Further information regarding previous recipients can be found here


Media Contact: Julie Parker, Corporate Affairs Manager, Committee for Geelong

Mob: 0409561191